Arts and Crafts Thursday 2/14/13

This week was a little different, it’s Valentine’s and we had to get one of our projects done early and in the mail so it would make it to Grammie’s on time!  I’ve had a hard time not sharing this one, as it was sooo easy and fun to make together, and turned out just adorable IMHO.

First we gathered all our supplies: potholders (we got 2packs at the dollar store – these were more for cute purposes than later use so we didn’t need them to be super thick or fancy), fabric paint (non-puff and puff), heart shaped stickers, and clothes you don’t mind ruining (we didn’t think we’d be as messy as we were and got permanent fabric paint on a good pair of Em’s leggings…major BOO!!).

Once we were ready I placed a heart shaped sticker in the middle of Em’s palm.  Press it down good so the paint doesn’t seep underneath it.  We used foam stickers and they had a nice hold and shape to them.  Then I painted her little hand completely.  Quickly once painted (before it starts to dry on you which fabric paint does FAST) pull the heart sticker off leaving a heart shaped void in the palm.  Press their little palm onto the pot holder (hanging loop UP if yours has them).  Daddy helped with this step and holding her hand while I painted to help reduce mess.  With a two year old this was definitely a two adult job.  Pull their hand directly up so the paint doesn’t smudge and allow to dry.  Once these had set a bit Mommy went back with the puff paint and wrote her name and the year on them and decorated just a bit for some color and contrast.

I think they turned out great!  They were simple to make, rather inexpensive, and something the grandparents and great-grands will treasure 🙂

IMG_6107

IMG_6110 IMG_6109

Although we’d already made our pot holder Valentine’s and our Valentine’s for our friends, we still needed to do something fun today.  During a recent trip to Hobby Lobby I’d found foam crowns that just needed a little embellishment.  And Miss Em loves anything princess so I knew the crowns would be a big hit.  We used some of the foam stickers from Grammie’s Valentine’s card and the heart centers in our pot holders.

IMG_6132Ok…proud Mommy moment…I did NOT tell her to put the hearts upside down in the peaks of the crown, she did that ALL herself!!  As you can see, Mommy helped by taking the stickers off their backing and sticking them to the edge of the table, those foam stickers are hard to get off their backing for little fingers.

IMG_6137Daddy crowned his princess 🙂

IMG_6138

Happy girl!

Happy girl who refused to look at the camera.

Finally, because it’s Valentine’s which is a holiday for sugar shock, we had to decorate cookies.  I’ll admit here, I wasn’t very creative and slacked and didn’t make home-made.

I’m tired…

And pregnant…

And I didn’t want to!

But we had fun decorating nonetheless!

IMG_6154

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arts and Crafts Thursday 2/14/13

  1. I think the pot holders turned out great!!! Looks like you guys had a blast with your crafts today! I can’t believe how big and how smart she’s getting!

  2. Pingback: Arts and Crafts Thursday 2/14/13 « Did That Just Happen Blog

  3. whimsyinlove says:

    Love the potholder idea! What a great gift!!

  4. whimsyinlove says:

    Love the potholder idea! Such a cute gift, and it can be mailed! Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

