Nesting, exhaustion, and Mama’s boys

The days are dwindling for my little family of three.  I look at the calendar and it seems like we still have lots of time, but the numbers don’t lie…49 days and counting…it’s going to be here before we know it!

I’m noticing more changes as we get closer to the end.  I feel good for the most part which is nice, but I’m physically more tired.  I don’t remember that so much with Em.

But…I wasn’t keeping up with a toddler while pregnant with Em either!!

Once of the things I’m noticing the most is the need to be doing something.  I have to be straightening something, cooking something, doing SOMETHING. All.the.time!  In the last several days I’ve prepared 5 freezer meals, 2 1/2 dozen cranberry muffins and 1 1/2 dozen banana muffins for the freezer.  Apparently I’m afraid we’ll starve when Landon comes home.  I’ve cooked more in the past week than in the last several combined!! It doesn’t matter how exhausted I am, I can’t be still.  I can’t relax.  And then sleep is a misery of tossing and turning as well!  It’s crazy!  I think what I’m experience is what they call “nesting”.  It’s nice that both kiddos rooms are straight (yes, I have to straighten Landons too…Em likes to play in there), the dishes are done (despite the now broken dishwasher), laundry is going, beds are all made, the hospital bag is half packed, and the freezer is filling.  But it’s probably not helping my level of exhaustion…

…or the ankles that are slowly starting to swell.

I’ve read that “nesting” is a natural instinct most women in the second trimester encounter.  We’ll we’re well past the second trimester so this instinct can go away!! I’ve also read its a sign of labor nearing…we’re going to go ahead and ignore that little tidbit, because as ready as I am to be done, this baby is not done cooking yet!  I won’t allow any shenanigans by him to speed up his birthday.  Just won’t allow it.  We have everything set for April 9th…he won’t ruin my plans!

Have I ever told you how fiercely God tends to laugh at my plans?!

Well…we’re just going to ignore that little tidbit as well!  K?

We’ve had a busy several days and have seen lots of people.  One of the common comments we received from people was “oh my, you look like your due any day!!” Um…thanks?!  I think that means…”hey pregnant lady…you look fat!  That baby must be ready to pop on out of you!”

Not nice!

The other comments we’re getting are all the comments about having a boy…

“Are you ready for this?”

“Boys are crazy!”

“Get ready for all the action that will be coming to your house.”

And finally…

“You think your daughter is a Momma’s baby…wait for this little boy…boys LOVE their Momma’s.”

Hmmm…I really have mixed feelings on the last comment (while I chose again to IGNORE the prior ones).  I adore my little Momma’s baby.  I’m already worried about how to share all that, but I’m sure its some ingrained Mommy instinct that just comes after delivery.

Right?!

I like the idea of a sweet little boy who adores his Mommy.  What Mother wouldn’t?  One of my favorite bloggers just wrote about her sweet boys today!

8484511862_794954f299_zGo read PW’s blog about her sweet little men and the fear of adding a boy to your life dissipates just a bit 🙂

But… I don’t think  I want a TRUE Momma’s boy.

I dated one of those once…let’s just say his Momma was a huge factor in the ending of that relationship.  LOL  So the question with a little boy becomes…how do you play that one?

Which leads me back to my previous thoughts…

Girls are easier!  God must be sitting up there cracking up and shaking his head knowing what this little man He’s adding to my life is about to do to me!

No really…I think He is!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nesting, exhaustion, and Mama’s boys

  1. hair, clothes, hormones, periods… no, trust me – girls are NOT easier!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

