I apparently am not a bird

Remember my mentioning the urge to nest and going crazy and not resting when I knew better?? Well reality caught up and took the wind right out of my sails.  As my Mother put it “stop that nesting…it’s for the birds. Rest”.  It appears she may be correct, I am not a bird, and I overdid it.  It may have happened anyway, but I’m sure my overdoing it just didn’t help.

Monday I was so proud of myself, by mid-day I knew I HAD to take it easier.  I loaded up my kindle with books and snuggled onto the couch with my precious little girl.  She’s two…not usually up for snuggles and quiet time but she wasn’t feeling well so she gladly accepted the downtime.  We had a very low-key evening and since she’d skipped her nap, an early bedtime.  I decided I’d done too well to stop then, so I piled up in bed at 8pm with my kindle and called it an early night.  I was so relaxed, it was much needed and well earned down time.

Until…

The contractions started.

I spent the better part of an hour having contractions ten minutes apart, they were not fun.  I didn’t really have real contractions with Emilie so nothing prepared me for the breathtaking fun I would indulge with Landon…I’m still not sure I’m mentally ready for the next time it happens…those suckers hurt!  I cannot fathom true labor and am thankful I shouldn’t have to.  Women who do it san drugs are rockstars in my mind, crazy rockstars, but to each their own.  I’ll take my epidural and cesarean please 🙂

Back to the story…after the contractions stopped waves of pain continued for several hours until sleep finally prevailed.  Tuesday was spent incredibly uncomfortable and dreading the Dr appointment I’d been forced to make for Wednesday (today).

Luckily everything went reasonably well at the Dr.  There are a few things they’re watching, and he said luckily at this point the contractions didn’t cause true labor but if it happens again I need to call immediately and be seen (boo…I hate going to the dr).

Here’s the freaky part, modern medicine amazes me!  Really it does.  They were able to do an fFN test, which looks for a specific hormone that marks early labor.  He says this test is incredibly accurate and if it returns a positive marker, you will likely go into labor within 14 days.  SERIOUSLY!?  Apparently 14 days from labor your body releases this hormone and if it’s present, you are likely to labor within those 14 days (because you have no idea how long ago the hormone released…that day or three days ago).  If it’s negative, they can relax a little and just keep watching you.  At this moment I’m not schedule for a visit for another two weeks (void of further incidents).  But if the test comes back positive I will need to be seen every other day (FUN…have I told you that I dislike going to the Dr??) and they will start discussing other things like steroids and such to help push Landon’s development along.  So now we wait…we should get our results by tomorrow afternoon.  I feel confident that the result will be negative, I just have a peace about it, but we’ll see tomorrow.

I found this today and loved it.

Image

This is probably why I have a certain peace about tomorrows results.  I’ve spent time in prayer and know that God is in control of the situation.  Even if the results are positive tomorrow, I know He is really in control and know that things will happen as they are supposed to.  My worrying about it will not add anything.  One of my favorite verses when I start to worry…

Luke 12:25 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his  span of life?

This is so what I need to be reminded of sometimes when I get anxious.  I also love the saying “Worry is like a rocking chair, its gives you something to do for a while, but doesn’t get you anywhere”.

But while I’m trying not worrying, there is still fear in the back of my mind.  My little man is a WWM (wimpy white male in NICU terms) and is only 32 weeks along.  His size is going for him, but he needs more time to fully bake.  But I can’t think about all the negatives that could come in the coming weeks, I have to think positive and concentrate on prayer and trusting the One who is in control.

I’ll try to update tomorrow with our results, as I’m sure they’ll be negative 🙂  Hopefully we’ll be up for our Arts and Crafts Thursday tomorrow afternoon.  It’s been a wild week with a broken dishwasher (repairman finally coming tomorrow!!), Em has strep, and contractions.  Luckily Em’s meds are kicking in and she’s perking up!!  We have some fun things coming up and we need to get back to normal.

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

