Arts and Crafts Thursday 2/21/13

I have to admit, I didn’t expect to be able to post anything fun for today.  It’s been a rough week around here and I didn’t have anything planned.  I felt guilty all day that I was going to have no post — but baby girl had other things in mind.

She is her Momma’s girl, creative in her own right.

She asked after her nap to finger paint, at the moment I wasn’t up for the mess, so she tried again and asked for play-dough.  That my friends is easy!  She quickly cleared her play table and was ready to begin.

IMG_6168

I tried to make it creative and get her to make jewelry with the play-dough, but she wasn’t interested, she couldn’t get the little play-dough bracelets off fast enough.

Image

Image

But she did create a pretty amazing snowman on her own!!! Her Grammie Gigi had shown her the snow at their house on facetime and she’d been talking about snow since.  I thought her snowman was pretty good!

IMG_6172

IMG_6173

Shortly after she made her snowman (and then asked for Mommy to take her picture with it – yet refused to look at the camera) she lost interest with the play-dough.

Apparently she’d made her masterpiece for the day!

Earlier today we received the delivery of the blinds for the dining room and baby’s room we’ve been waiting on.  They immediately went to work getting them installed.  I say we because Em was helping Daddy with her tools!

IMG_6163

Daddy enjoyed working with his little partner.  She specifically asked to help and they were good workers together.

IMG_6166

We had a few spare pieces we weren’t going to use because we mounted it inside the window.  After watching Mickey she’d started trying to build a “birdie house” out of those pieces.  Mommy thought it was cute and helped her glue them together.  I needed a few minutes to get dinner ready for her and the idea struck us…

IMG_6177

She’d wanted to finger paint, and I didn’t want the mess of real paint so we decided to finger paint the house!!  I gave her a brush and showed her how to use it and she was in heaven for a good half hour!!

IMG_6179

So serious about her hard work!!

IMG_6185

She was so proud of her work that she insisted we call Gigi and show her!  We LOVE facetime!!!!

IMG_6189

Our final product!  She loves her little birdie house.  Sadly unless Mommy finds a way to better reinforce it, it won’t last a second of play.  But that’s tomorrow’s problem…tonight, it’s still drying.

Today was probably my favorite day of our Art’s and Crafts.  Because both  ideas were solely her’s!  Ok, maybe Mickey and Goofy building the birdie house helped, but the fact that she made the connection and started making one herself out of simple leftover items was a proud Mommy moment.  And I’d never imagined how much she would enjoy painting with a brush…we will be doing that again, and soon!

OH! – And don’t worry Grandpa…we built towers with legos this evening too!  🙂

P.S.– Thanks for all the thoughts and prayers, our test results came back today and the fFN was NEGATIVE!!!  So Landon should be baking for at minimum another two weeks!! YAY!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Arts and Crafts Thursday 2/21/13

  1. whimsyinlove says:

    Love the fingerprinted birdhouse and sweet ways you encouraged her creativity! I need some of that fingerpaint, perhaps..,

  2. eduncan says:

    Thank you!! We love it, its crayola brand and completely washable (the best part)!!! It goes on pretty opaque too so it works on several mediums, just takes a bit to dry completely 🙂

  3. That’s too cool! I’m glad that despite all that was going on you and Em got to have Arts and Crafts Thursday! You actually got a lot done, too!

Leave a Reply

