“Houston, we have a problem”

Ok…maybe it’s more “I” have a problem in this case…but that wouldn’t be as fun a title…

And realistically, I have a LOT of problems!  LOL I’m a worry wart, a bit OCD, miserably 35 weeks pregnant, and I have a two year old ruling the roost.  But none of those are as fun as the one plaguing me today.  

And honestly my two year old is ridiculously tame in the realm of two year olds.

My problem today, is my sweet tooth.  It is out.of.control.  I’d love to blame the pregnancy, in fact I’m sure it can get a least 1/3 of the credit, but I’ve always had a sweet tooth.  Regardless, something happened to me around Thanksgiving.  I’m not sure if it was the joy of the holiday season upon us or just the fact that it was more acceptable…but I started baking.  

My grandmother would be proud.

Until she heard that I ate everything I baked and have yet to have more than a day or so in my home without some sort of baked good to indulge in.  

It’s bad…very, very, very bad.

I recently read a blog by another blogger I follow who was having a particularly rough week. He admitted to being a “popper”.  You can read his blog here, in fact, go follow him…his blog is great.  But that’s beside the point.  While reading his blog I thought, Oh my goodness…that is SO me!!!  I have a chocolate stash of my own in the pantry.  And that’s in addition to the baked goods I’ve been keeping on hand!! 

Have a less than fun Dr. appointment?  Stop and grab a cherry limeaid on the way home.

Toddler giving me trouble? Snag a cookie, brownie, piece of cake (whatever the baked good of the day is I have on hand). 

Irritated with the husband? Handful of M&M’s does the trick! (Best with a side of caffeine free D.P)

Stressing over something??  Milkway + Cookie usually wins!!!

Image

Are you seeing a pattern here?  I’m eating my feelings with sweets!  It’s ok, its equal opportunity eating, I eat when I’m happy too! 

Pay the taxes earlier than expected to be able to?  That earned two cookies!  Rewards!!!

Toddler takes a nap today? Celebrate with (insert sweet of choice)

Toddler is in bed and I can put my feet up!? (yup more sweets)

Image

Don’t worry…I passed my glucose challenge a few weeks ago with flying colors.  The baby isn’t at any risk with my splurges.  And while I’m not thrilled with my weight gain, it’s within normal range so my metabolism is keeping up.  AND…while it sounds pretty bad…I do have the ability to restrain myself when it comes to portion control.  I’m smart enough to make SMALL cookies specifically for this reason.

So the question is…is my problem really a problem?  We all have our vices.  I don’t have to give up my sweets…right?!  

I think this happened with my daughter…I remember a pretty nice stash of Easter candy on my desk, I also remember commenting while nursing that I was surprised the kid wasn’t getting chocolate milk.  SO…it’s not a new problem, and we’ve all survived thus far!!

I’ve heard the first step in any recovery process is to admit I have a problem.  Well…It’s pretty clear I’ve got a real issue with chocolate (and a large number of other sweets).  But beyond step one…I’d prefer to go this route…

Image

 

 

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Houston, we have a problem”

  1. hahahahaha – excellent post! But thanks to you and your sweet tooth, I’ve gained 5 pounds. You send me pictures of that crap and then I have to make crap of my own. Mr. t is loving you, though. Having said that, he’s not here, but I made peanut butter cookies due to you making M&M cookies yesterday. 😛

  2. Fellow blogger here. Thanks for the compliment – my chocolate fiend sister.
    I love the poster!
    I think you dereve a chocolate for finding it.

Leave a Reply

