Attacked by the killer headboard

Remember the handmade headboard I posted about a while back?? This one.  Well last night it attacked me.

No really…it did!!

I’d had a particularly rough day.  My pregnant hormones were running rampant and things around me were in chaos. None of it was particularly our issue but those around us were stressed, ill, hurting, something.  It seemed that so many of the people we love have had some kind of major illness/trauma/stress recently and it was just a lot to take in.  The mood was a little blue around us and I was feeling guilty for feeling blue when I should be ramping up to be excited for the blessing being born into our lives just three weeks from today!

(Seriously?!  Three weeks from today I’ll be a Mother of TWO?!) No way!!!

After talking with Kate about writing it down and giving it away I’d decided to do just that. Kate and I both have what we call “God books”.  I made them for us about a year ago.  It’s been a great place to put our worries and our blessings in writing and then close the book, giving it over to God.  When we remember to use them, they’re helpful to both of us.  (I think she’s better about using hers…I’m a slacker…)  I had pulled out my book and written out my feelings and had just closed it and was talking to God before nodding off to sleep when I heard a weird and LOUD noise and suddenly my headboard was leaning over me!!!!

That is soooo not supposed to happen!!!

Thankfully the bed itself caught it from completely crashing down on me!  I was able to push it backwards and wiggle it behind the bed.  I tried to move the bed out some to slide it all the way down, but its a king and I’m pregnant…wasn’t working.  Thankfully by that time Hubby was on his way home and could come make it safe enough to sleep.  Unfortunately it scared the living life out of me and must have made my (already pushing high) blood pressure jump because I had cramps and contractions for an hour afterward.

Sorry Landon…didn’t mean to terrify you!!!

Luckily we all ended up getting a good nights sleep despite the incident and the Hubs was able to put the headboard back up, correctly this time.  That suckers not coming down again…its triple reinforced! LOL

I keep wondering though…

I’d heard this quote many times…. “The one concern of the devil is to keep Christians from praying. He fears nothing from prayerless studies, prayerless work, and prayerless religion. He laughs at our toil, mocks at our wisdom, but trembles when we pray. ” —Samuel Chadwick

Kinda weird that as soon as I rolled over to start talking to God before sleep overcame me that my headboard literally fell OUT OF THE STUDS and OFF THE WALL?!!!

Just sayin’….

 

 

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Attacked by the killer headboard

  1. It’s a sign!! A sign I tell you! Mainly it’s a sign that I am totally awesome and have good advice!

  2. whimsyinlove says:

    Lol, such a great story, and I absolutely love the quote.

Leave a Reply

