Blessings

We are home and feeling sooo blessed!!

TIRED!!!

…but blessed!

Image

Landon Bryce has arrived!

Landon Bryce was born on Tuesday, April 4 at 8:03 a.m.  He was 8lbs 4oz and 20″ long.  If you’re a facebook friend you’ll note that I guessed his EXACT size and weight the night before.  I just took a random stab in the dark and was right, my doctor and I had a good laugh about it.  Everything went incredibly smoothly considering.

We arrived at the hospital at 5:30 a.m. and they were ready and waiting for us.  Because we were a special case we had extra people assigned to us and people were constantly buzzing around us.  We met many of the people that would be involved and they started prepping me for surgery.  I was doing really good anxiety wise until they took me back to the O.R. alone to put in the spinal block.  That’s when I got a bit emotional, but overall I did really well keeping it together!  The cesarean itself was quick and easy, he was out in less than ten minutes.  My Dr. is quick!  Unfortunately even at 39 weeks and over 8lbs he was being a WWM (wimpy white male) and I didn’t get to love on him much before they whisked him away to work on getting him to breathe better.  My little toot wanted to hold his breath…not something anyone was comfortable with in the O.R. I was assured he was fine and they were just going to go piss him off so he’d get a good cry in and be forced to breathe better…hmmm.

Once he left they began the hard part, the hysterectomy.  Luckily my Dr. had allowed Braden to stay with me because they intended to keep me awake.  I wasn’t always on board with this plan, but ended up being incredibly thankful for it. (My mom was waiting in my recovery room for baby boy, we’d gotten pre-approval for him to go to her while we were in surgery).  For the most part I was oblivious to what was going on and Braden did an incredible job keeping me distracting flipping through pictures of the baby and of Em he had on his phone.  Sadly, there was some bleeding that slowed them down and my spinal block began to wear off.  I will just leave it as this, that crap hurts!  I was squeezing Braden’s hand to the point he was telling me I was about to break his fingers and crying in pain, they were quickly pushing meds in my IV about the time I was forced into a drug induced nap.  They did get it under control quickly and I was allowed to wake back up some.  Overall the blood loss was minimal and they didn’t even need the blood they’d requested for just in case.  That makes my surgery a HUGE SUCCESS!!!  I lost enough to look a little ghostly and be more tired than normal but thankfully not enough to require the transfusions they’d prepared for.  God is good!!!

I will say recovery has been harder this round, but I’ve turned the corner and am doing really well.  Yesterday I got to get out of the house for the first time in 8 days for my post-op appointment.  I’m pretty much still on house arrest, but am doing well.

Now for the fun stuff!!!  My kiddos!!!!

Image

Emilie holding her baby brother for the first time.

Landon is such a mellow baby!!!!  He’s doing really well.  While nights are still an adjustment to get used to he is sooo good.  He really only eats once or twice in the night, we only have issues on the nights he doesn’t want to go back to sleep!  During the day he’s pretty much a sleepy head of course but he’s really pretty easy going.  He nurses like a champ and oh man is he a poop monster!  I had forgotten how many diapers we would be going through…it’s absolutely ridiculous!

Image

An awake moment…

But how cute is this little face??  I was so worried about being able to love him as much as I love Em.  But it just happens!  You’re heart just grows when they place that little baby in your arms and suddenly its big enough to adore and love both your babies.  It’s incredible!  We are just so blessed to have gotten through the surgery and this far into the recovery as well as we have.  God has been with us, holding our hands, the entire way.  I am so thankful.

Em is doing amazing with her baby brother!! She loves to help at diaper changing time, sleeps through his crying, and is a good helper!  She’s of course adjusting to sharing her time with us, but she’s doing sooo amazing!  I’m so proud of my little girl!  She’s changed so much in just a few weeks, she’s acting like SUCH a big girl!!

Image

Kisses for brother!

And one of the biggest blessings of all…

The knowledge that we caught a problem before it progressed.  The pathology on the removed cervix from the hysterectomy came back with the lowest grade of pre-cancerous cells.  While this wouldn’t be a concern to much of the female population, to someone who has my history of cervical cancer this is huge.  It meant that all the Doctors were right all these years, that it would return and it was working on returning.  This grade of cells would be watchable for most…for me it would have been a huge concern and we’d have had to take steps to stop it from further growing and becoming a true cancer again.  I am so thankful I trusted my Doctor and his recommendation to do this surgery.  I am so thankful that God eased my anxiety and fears to allow for this to happen, so thankful that now we don’t have to worry about it coming back.

So now its time to start working on finding our new normal.   I have six more weeks of maternity leave to fully recover/establish our new routine/and figure out this parenting of two thing.  I’m not gonna lie…It’s hard!!

Landon can be sleeping for an hour but the minute I need my hands free for Em he’ll be screaming.  Evenings are rough…but we’ll figure it out!  I apologize in advance for the sporadic posts, sleep deprived ramblings, and bragging on my precious kiddos!!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Blessings

  1. whimsyinlove says:

    Congrats! He’s absolutely adorable, and the big sis kissing pic is priceless! Enjoy your precious newborn!

  2. Valerie says:

    Congratulations! It sounds like even though things got intense at certain points, all in all it went well and what a precious baby you have there! And a darling big sister. 😀
    I’m so glad to hear that you won’t have to worry about another cancer and that what was there is no more! xoxo

  3. What blessings you have there! I loved seeing these pictures and reading your story! Well done sweetie! I’m so happy for you!

  4. Cute kid!!
    I’m glad the procedure went as well as you could have hoped. You’re optimism comes through.
    May the baby bring you many more blessings.

  5. Karaboo says:

    He’s so cute!!! I love babies! So glad Em is being a big girl about this as well. So many blessings!

    Congratulations!

  6. Holly says:

    He’s a doll! And his sister is so beautiful! I’m so happy the delivery and surgery went well and finding that issue ahead of time? That’s a God thing for sure!! Congrats to you and your husband.

    • eduncan says:

      Thank you Holly!!! Definitely a God thing!!! It really has been from the start of this journey, the surgeon we used is someone my husband met once and immediately clicked with and he really held our hands through the entire journey, including praying with us in the O.R. before we began!

  7. You have beautiful children! Congrats to you, Mama!

Leave a Reply

