It’s a God thing…

I wasn’t planning on posting today, I really just wanted to take half a second to sign on and thank everyone for their sweet comments and then put my feet up while BOTH my littles napped.

Image

Little man napping NOT in my arms!

But one of my sweet commenters (<–is that a word? the squiggly red line under it says no…but I don’t care, lol) said something that reminded me of something I wanted to share.

As I’d previously shared I had some struggles with my anxiety level regarding the risks of this surgery.  But through prayer I’d always been able to find peace and know that it was the right choice, thus making it easier to go through the process.  But I knew that the day of the event my anxiety was likely to be higher.  I’d considered asking one of the pastoral staff from our church to come up that morning to pray with us, but something reminded me about a conversation I’d had with our surgeon.  He is a Godly man and something told me to ask him to pray with us.  I got up the nerve during one of my last appointments and he was very happy to be asked to pray with us before surgery.  

The day of the surgery I was abnormally calm.  I had no jitters, no fears, no anxiety.  It was great.  Until that moment they took me away from my family and back to the O.R. by myself. I was sitting on the edge of the operating table getting my spinal block when the fear set in. Thankfully I had a great nurse that took my hand and wiped the tears falling down my face. I quickly pulled it together and we got ready to go.  But then I remembered…we had a deal.  I said out loud to the surgeon as he was finishing prepping, “don’t forget we had a deal…we pray before we cut!”.  He had a good laugh and said that he’d been praying all morning, I knew he was joking and not blowing me off, but apparently the nurses and techs in the room did not.  I had already been laid back and was completely numb and unable to move when THREE…yes THREE nurses/techs (I know at least one of the ladies was the surgical tech) rushed to my head and asked if I’d like them to pray with me!  What a blessing to have a room full of people willing to pray with me.  I immediately felt a sense of peace that God had provided me a room full of brothers and sisters in Christ ready to pray together.  I knew that He was with us and the surgery was going to go well.  Of course when they offered my Dr immediately made it clear he was joking and intending to pray over all of us once my husband was allowed in the room.  We had our moment of prayer together and the surgery was a huge success.  

So yes…everything about this journey was a God thing.  I am so thankful for the many blessings he’s provided us.  God is so good!

Image

So sweet when they sleep!

 

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s a God thing…

  1. He’s so cute, even when awake! I can’t wait to meet him!

  2. GigiRM says:

    We must always give our thanks for each and every blessing bestowed upon us. This mother prayed incessantly for healthy mom and child. As well as an uneventful surgery. I am thankful for the answered prayers of all. Not to mention the daily strength provided to myself for the duration. God is good, always. Amen

  3. Holly says:

    Sounds like you were blessed tenfold with an amazing medical team! So happy for all of you. And thrilled for you that the little ones are napping at the same time!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

