Arts and Crafts Thursday

We actually made a craft!!! I’m feeling very accomplished that we found the time to squeeze a project into our insanely chaotic life right now.  I believe I was in serious denial regarding bringing an infant home.  This kid doesn’t sleep!?!  Aren’t babies supposed to sleep all the time???  I can’t complain too much because he does the bulk of his sleeping overnight, and if we are out running errands he’s great about sleeping in the car/stroller/ect, but in the house during our normal routine…he does not like to sleep.  Now don’t get me wrong, he loves to fall asleep…but he doesn’t STAY that way 😦

So his lack of sleeping means that we don’t start things we can’t finish.  So we play-doh and color, but we aren’t dragging out project supplies.  Mother’s Day was upon us and my Momma said all she wanted was a stepping stone for her yard.  Easy peasy…right??  Well it WOULD have been easy if I hadn’t had so much trouble finding the time to put it together.  Once we found the time though it was sooo fun to do and we all got to work together on it.

I will admit, I cheated.  I bought a kit with all the supplies, but I didn’t like their mosaic pieces so I bought my own separately.  First we mixed it up and poured it into the mold.  Then we added the kids imprints and decorated.  It was really simple and fun!

Image

Emilie putting her footprint in the compound.

Our kit came with glitter to add to the mixture.  I wasn’t sure about using it but like how it turned out.

Image

Two little feet.

Time to decorate…

Image

Emilie helping Daddy.

Image

#2

Image

#1

So we made two.  It was such a good idea that we decided to make another one for my grandmother for her birthday.  Of course she got her’s late too…but better late than never I suppose.  If you look above at the two options I decorated one and Daddy decorated the other, with the help of Em of course.  Can you tell who decorated #1 and who decorated number #2???

And these are the finished products.  I love them.  We are going to go get more mix and make two more.  One for me to keep and one for my inlaws.  Good idea Gigi!!!

Image

Image

Em will be excited to decorate some more…but the footprint will be a fight.  She’s become such a little priss that she was screaming as we pushed her foot into the mixture, lol.  She was fine on the first one, but had figured it out by the second and wasn’t having it!!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Arts and Crafts Thursday

  1. Kayla Dickens says:

    I may have to do this too. 🙂

  2. GigiRM says:

    Excited!! Can not wait to have my daily reminder of those precious feet. Gigi will cherish them always. Love, Gigi

  3. So cool! Can’t wait to try this!!!

Leave a Reply

