The life and death of my magnolia

What??  I’m writing about a magnolia tree??  

Yes…Yes, I am.

See this magnolia tree is very special to me!  It was a gift from my husband on the Mother’s Day that I was pregnant with my daughter, Emilie.  It was planted outside her window in our then home, something we would watch grow together. 

Image

Emilie’s tree when planted

That was the plan at least.  

I’ve never had much of a green thumb but I swear I tried with this tree.  It from very early on didn’t want to do well.  We quickly dubbed it a “Charlie Brown Christmas Tree”.

Image

Photo courtesy Google

But I babied it non-the-less.  We watered it, gave it special vitamins, and it hung in there but never really looked happy.  Then we moved…I was soooo upset about the tree.  We decided if we left it, it would surely die, so we might as well try to transplant it.  At first it was happy, it looked better than it had in a while.  But slowly I saw it fading again.  And finally it bit the dust.  My babies tree died.  I was crushed.  I didn’t have the heart to dig it up, so it sat there in my backyard dead.  Completely and utterly dead.

Image

My sad dead tree

And then something happened.  We got a ton of rain and at the bottom of the tree noticed a small structure emerging from the soil.  From the root base a new baby tree is growing!

Image

Now don’t look at my grass!! The hubs was not thrilled that I took these pictures right BEFORE he mowed! LOL

ImageNow whether or not this little baby will make it I don’t know.  My MIL says it should.  We will see.  I will let it get a little stronger and then we can discuss cutting down the dead tree.  That will probably make me cry.  I get it, its just a tree.  But its special to me.

You’re probably wondering…”why did I just read an entire post about trees?”.  

Well…because I wrote it and your curiosity got the best out of you!

But there is more to the story than just a tree.  This tree was a representation of my daughter, we were going to watch them grow simultaneously.  Our sweet perfect little girl and our little gem magnolia.  But life had other plans and the tree didn’t make it (thankfully my sweet perfect little girl is happy and healthy– unlike her tree).  But in the mist of that change came something new, something young and vulnerable.  Something that needs love and nurture.  And it came just after the birth of our son.  No, its not Landon’s tree.  But it is my children’s tree.  I no longer am only graced by Emilie (though she did change my life and the blog will remain named the same, lol) but I am graced by both Emilie and Landon.  And my children, just like their tree, are young and vulnerable and need to be loved, nurtured, and grown into beautiful human beings.  So while the death of Em’s tree was sad, the change brought something new.  Something incredibly special.

I’m maturing aren’t I???  I’ve accepted that on occasion, change is good.  Very good!!!

My kiddos love each other.  Landon watches Em’s every movement and Em takes every chance to hold or kiss her baby brother and tell us how much she loves him and how cute he is.  They already have a special relationship.  When he cries she quickly gets to his side and sings to him, or tries to give him a binky.  He responds to her and listens, smiles, and calms.  I love watching them together and pray that they will continue to grow together loving each other.  

I just hope that their tree makes it too! 🙂

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The life and death of my magnolia

  1. Ahhh – that was such an awesome post! good way to look at life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

