My baby girl isn’t a baby anymore

Three years ago my world changed.  I was gabbing on the phone with my girlfriend all the way to my doctor appointment.  We’d been having trouble with the amniotic fluid levels and were monitoring Emilie every two to three days.  It had become routine and I was feeling exceptionally good that morning.  I saw the doctor at 9:30 and he said it was time to go…Emilie’s fluid levels had dropped to a dangerous level and we needed to do an immediate cesarean.  So when I jumped back in my car after the appointment, the call to my friend was…”um…I’m not coming back to work today…I’m having this baby!!!.”  I drove myself next door and walked all the way across the hospital from the parking garage toting my bag.  This was the one and only appointment my husband missed throughout the pregnancy, so I was checking in alone.  I don’t want to know how fast he drove that day, because before they even finished checking me in he’d arrived…and he wasn’t that close! Just after lunch we held our perfect baby girl in our arms.

Image

 

Image

 

Flash forward just three incredibly short years and my little girl has grown up so much!!!

Image

Big girl coming in to see her birthday surprises

This year we opted to forgo the huge birthday bash.  I just didn’t have it in me to plan a party with 15 toddlers in one room.  Nor do we have room for the toys that come out of those big parties.  I also thought it would save us a little money…boy was I wrong!  We ended up spoiling her rotten.  

We decorated the dining room and surprised her on her birthday morning.

Image

Presents, cake, streamers…all the makings of a good birthday surprise!

Even cake for breakfast in her special birthday chair!Image

 

After she’d had time to enjoy her morning we got dressed and headed out for a day of fun.  We first went to the aquarium.  It was fun, we really did enjoy it…but toddlers move quickly through things like this and it cost more dollars than the minutes we spent inside…arg.

Image

 

After the aquarium we roamed the mall spoiling her with little things and then a trip to the Disney store.  Oh the Disney store…that place can do a lot of damage to my wallet.  Luckily she has always been taught that she has to choose which items she wants, so she picked two things and was happy.  I was so glad she wasn’t one of the toddlers throwing tantrums in the store that day!!  We also had lunch at the rainforest cafe.  That was a fun experience that I’m glad I can say we did and don’t have to do again, lol.  

It was a great day and wore the little girl out!!

Image

 

Then she got to do it all over again the next day!!!  There was even a fireworks show!!

Image

 

Image

 

And then on Sunday we stayed home and played with our new toys.  We even got a chance to go outside and play in the sun 🙂

Image

Her new pool from her great-grandparents.

It was a fabulous birthday weekend!  Our baby girl is growing up!!  Even without a party she had a very special birthday! I can’t believe my baby is three.  

Landon enjoyed the weekend too!  He loved all the different lights at the aquarium and then playing in the pool on Sunday.  But it was a busy weekend for my little man and he was a tired boy by the end of it all!!

Image

Little man enjoying the sun and water!

Image

Exhausted little boy at the end of a very long weekend celebrating with his big sister!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My baby girl isn’t a baby anymore

  1. Happy Birthday to Emilie! I still clearly remember the day she was born 🙂

Leave a Reply

