Ode to the ear infection

Did you know that the three smallest bones in the human body are in the ear?  You’d think something containing such small pieces of us couldn’t cause such chaos.  But I’m here to tell you…. Ear infections are EVIL!

Emilie is 3.  She’s had fluid in her ear once or twice but never a true ear infection.  So I’m learning about these evil little buggers for the first time.  

A little over a week ago Landon started to become a bit of a grump.  My normally smiley mellow man…was…well a lot less mellow.  And then he started to not nurse very well (RED FLAG!!!  My little chunk is nearly four months and weighs 15lb 13oz…he LOVES to nurse!!) and then the last straw was he started to cry at the breast.  That’s when my mommy instinct said something just isn’t right.  Of course the hubs thought I was over reacting wanting to rush him off to the Dr at the first sign of grump-itus.  But something in my gut said to go…so I did!

Sure enough Landon had a severe ear infection.  (HA Hubs!!! Mommy instinct trumps all!)

The referred pain in his jaw was making it miserable to suck to nurse and eat, thus the food strike and crying at the breast.  The pain in general was destroying his mood.  I was sent home with a RX for amoxicillin and numbing drops and told to use Tylenol when he seemed uncomfortable.  Within two days my smiley baby was back.  Sweet relief!!!  

Then this happened….

Image

Image courtesy of Google

Hrmm….

Finally 7 days into the amoxicillin I took him back…this just couldn’t be right.  Mommy instinct wins again!  His poor little ear is STILL severely infected 😦   Back home with a stronger antibiotic and to watch him carefully.  Poor little guy!

Image

My poor little guy just miserable

I would love to say I’m seeing improvement, but I’m afraid to jinx myself.  He’s still having some big tear filled fits and he won’t eat for as long.  But he is attempting to eat more often and is napping slightly better.  But without his full daytime calories he’s waking more at night to nurse and is a little more needy during the day.  So it goes without saying that this Momma is worn out!!!

Add to that having to crawl into bed with the crying three year old at 6 a.m. this morning because she’d had a bad dream…think they’d notice if I locked myself in the bathroom and took a quick nap??

Image

Image courtesy pinterest

Yea…I thought so….

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ode to the ear infection

  1. Gigi's says:

    Our poor little guy and mommy. So sad for all. Hoping his tummy handles the antibiotic o.k., covered in prayer.

  2. hahahahaha- love the bathroom break!! That was awesome! I’m sorry he is still hurting, but it’s good that you listen to your instincts!

Leave a Reply

