The Wednesday Wash-up that wasn’t

So I didn’t post a Wednesday Wash-up last week.  I can’t even blame it on momnesia…I didn’t forget…I just didn’t know what to say.

I went into this challenge (can refresh your memories here) full of enthusiasm.  I was hopeful that it would help me get into a healthy routine of cleaning my home, because I struggle there.  Not to say I have a dirty home, I just don’t have a good routine so it tends to need cleaned before it gets cleaned.  Unfortunately I just don’t believe this challenge was for me.

In most cases the challenge didn’t work for me because my goals for it didn’t align with the actual challenge.  What I was hoping for was a create a daily/weekly routine that would help me maintain my home and to do so with a more joyful spirit about it. Because lets face its, I’m a grump about cleaning.

A large majority of the Martha challenges pertain to organizing.  Whether it be the fridge, pantry, cabinets, drawers, medicine cabinet…she wanted me organized.  Well if you know me, you know I’m too OCD in that area to have those areas out of order.  Typically those areas are kept very nice because everything has a place and I tend to like it in its place.  The other Martha challenges were big but rare occasion items, like clean the blinds or the top of the refrigerator.  And while its good to do those things we tend to do them several times a year (is that enough???) and not regularly.

The Mary challenges were thought evoking and I did enjoy reading them, but I found that many of them didn’t apply to me because my children are too young or I didn’t necessarily agree with the philosophy.  While I would love to have the heart of a Mary, I’m not sure I do.  I was raised to be a strong independent woman and I believe in a full partnership marriage.  We have a very 50/50 marriage.  My husband and I split the chores and we each do our part.  We also share as much of the parenting as we can.  I think its the best thing for our marriage.  For this reason I struggled with some of the Mary challenges.

Image

This is how cleaning should be right?! Image courtesy Google.

As a whole I did enjoy the book and the challenge, if for no other reason other than I learned something about myself while doing it.  Now if your wondering how I’ve done a 31 day challenge in 15 days, its because I skipped ahead.  I’ve never been the patient type! HA  On days the challenge didn’t pertain to me, I just kept reading…

My original mission statement for the challenge was : “I want to create a clean and safe environment for my family to grow, learn, play, and thrive together.”  What I learned is, that my family does have this environment.  While it’s very rarely white glove clean, it’s clean enough to be a safe environment for us to grow, learn, play and thrive together.  And for now, that’s good enough for me.

I am working on a new cleaning routine for myself, since this didn’t accomplish that goal.  I’ll keep you posted on how that goes…

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Wednesday Wash-up that wasn’t

  1. I still love and stand by my cleaning schedule! 🙂 So – my dad grew up where they cleaned the house on Saturday. Mom didn’t want to ruin her weekend so when they got married it was moved to clean the house on Friday night. My adaptation was that I don’t want to clean that much in one day, so when T was little I started my routine of clean one room a day so that it didn’t all pile up on me. The list I use now I found on Pinterest and it has modified my routine a little and helped keep things cleaner. I still like the little bit every day approach so that it doesn’t feel overwhelming to me!

    But, having seen your house, I know that you have a very nurturing environment and I know that you will find the right routine for you!

  2. If you come up with a cleaning routine that works with small kids around, please post!!

  3. Holly says:

    I’ve tried cleaning schedules. Charts, white boards, chore lists, check lists, calendars. I have failed at all of them. My house isn’t a dirty home, just not overly tidy most days. I’ve learned to accept the clutter. 🙂

    • Holly, I’ve tried and failed before too. My problem is I don’t live with it well… The mess makes me anxious so I’ve got to find something that works and stick to it. My newest plan is incredibly simple, so I’m hopeful it will take this time. I think it will bc I’m making Kate keep me accountable and…well…She’s good at being bossy!! 😉 Love ya Kate!

Leave a Reply

