Arts and Crafts Thursdays

I’m a day late, I know…but the kiddos didn’t cooperate with Mommy wanting to sit at the computer.  

This week isn’t really a typical art or craft, but it was fun for Emilie and I which got me thinking.  Isn’t anything we do together that we enjoy and makes us be creative and imaginative technically art?  These days art can be anything! 

One definition of art is : “the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination”.

And craft is: “an activity involving skill in making things by hand.”

So while we didn’t get out our paints or typical craft supplies, we were creative with finding a fun way to play and enjoy a hot day indoors.

Image

 

We made a blanket fort!  Sometimes the simplest things, a blanket and table, can create hours of play.

Image

 

Obviously nothing fancy, but to my three year old it was heaven.  I’m going to have take some fort making lessons from my Aunt.  When we were kids she would turn an entire room into a fort!  But for now, she’s thrilled.  She brought some of her favorite “friends” (stuffed animals) in with her and even had her snack in there.  Later when I had to go nurse brother I let her take the tablet in there and watch a video.  It was a very peaceful evening! LOL

And while we’re talking about “friends” I have to share two of my new favorite “friends”!! 

Image Image

I’m not sure where my fascination with owls came from…I’ve loved them for years and just only purchased my first one last year, but these two HAD to be mine.  And I’m in love!!  I literally stared at the pitcher for ten minutes and couldn’t figure out what in the world I would do with it.  I even left the store and decided I didn’t need it.

Then it haunted me.  

Like couldn’t get my mind off the stinkin’ owl haunting me…it had to be mine.  So I got creative and made it a functional part of my kitchen.  It’s currently my favorite thing in there!

Image

My sweet babies and I wish you a Happy Friday and great weekend ahead! Enjoy!

 

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arts and Crafts Thursdays

  1. I think a blanket fort is a great craft! 🙂

  2. Holly says:

    Looks like great fun! I miss those days with my kids, enjoy everyone of them. It’s a glorious time to be a mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

