Wednesday Washup

Yep…I have a follow-up Washup for you!  As I mentioned last time we talked, I have come up with a new cleaning routine for our home.  I wasn’t sure how it would work out but have been pleasantly surprised.  Just having it written out and on the fridge for both of us to see has made it easy to stick to and we are both feeling quite a bit of relief that the house is in a better state.

Today for instance was laundry day.  I actually looked forward to getting up and getting the first load in before I started working (LOVE being able to work from home and do my laundry while I work!!!).  By the end of lunch I had two of our three loads completed!  The final load just finished in the dryer and is just waiting to be folded and put away.  And that’s IT for the day!  Yet somehow my entire house is cleaner.

So since several of you asked me to share if I found a routine that worked for us with a toddler underfoot and baby in arm… Here it is!  I even made it pretty for you!

Image

 

Yes…it really is THAT simple!!  For us I had to add to make the beds and clean up the toys every day.  It’s something I tend to skip and needed to be prompted.  While it’s easy to say, “Why?! It’s all going to get messed up again” it really does make a difference in how the house looks.  We’ve both felt better since we started doing both of these small tasks daily.  As for other items, when I was looking for ideas for my list (on pinterest of course) many people added things like sorting the mail or doing the dishes for example.  I didn’t add those to my list because I can’t stand dishes in the sink or unopened mail – those are items we do immediately already, but if you need that prompt…add it!

As for the days of the week, it doesn’t look like much does it??  That’s the beauty of the list, if you just do each small section every day you can keep up.  That’s really all I am asking of myself…to keep up.  I still have a sticky fingered toddler running around making messes and two dogs shedding…my house will never pass a white glove test…but I’m okay with that.  It’s just a very peaceful feeling to know I’m caught up in my housework and my home is clean and safe for my family to enjoy together.

And that’s probably the last cleaning post you will ever read from me… Because this is about the extent of my knowledge on the subject! HA!  Sad…but true!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday Washup

  1. I love your list and I’m so glad that is the way you went! I love having my list like that, and I feel so much better about the house being clean and I don’t feel overwhelmed by how much has to be done! That’s the important thing – it’s small things every day and that adds up just right!

  2. Holly says:

    So glad you’re feeling good about the list! A clean home is a great feeling.

Leave a Reply

