Smiles, ballet, & baking…

The last week and a half has been trying to say the least.  A lot is going on around us and its been hard to keep smiling.  But thankfully, we have a great deal to smile about and once I focus on those things I can remember whats really important.

This afternoon after I was worrying over things I cannot control I got a minute to just sit and snuggle with my baby boy.  He was especially smiley today and every time I looked at him he would light up.  In that moment I realized that as long as I could have those moments with my babies, the rest just doesn’t matter as much.

Image

Sweet smiles from my little man!

This week my little girl had her first ballet class. She is IN LOVE!  And honestly, so am I! It’s really special to see something light her up as much as dance does. She begs daily to go back to dance class and has been telling anyone who will listen all about it. I’m so thankful that she’s getting the opportunity to experience it.  

Now, who wants to teach me the trick to the perfect ballerina bun??!  Dang that thing is hard to do on a little one with fine hair!!

Image

Look how excited she is to go!!

Image

Official Angelina Ballerina outfit

Last week I found a simple recipe for sprinkled sugar cookies on pinterest.  It was perfect to make with my little helper this afternoon while her brother napped.  Simple AND quick.  No waiting for the dough to chill or rolling it out or cutting out shapes.  I measured out all the ingredients into bowls so she could just dump them into the mixer as well as putting sprinkles into bowls for dunking later.  That little bit of prep work helped tremendously!!!  

She was really able to help and it was fun to do together!  We will definitely be making these again.

Our sprinkled cookies.

Our sprinkled cookies.

Image

Making balls and patting them into the sprinkles.

Yes – those are Mickey sprinkles!!

That’s all it takes to make my littles happy. For Landon just a smile from one of us will light up his face. For Em, ballet and baking with Mommy puts a smile on her face. Such minor things make them happy. This realization reminds me that its the small things that mean the most. Whether it’s a snuggle on the couch with my baby boy or the giggles with Em as we eat sprinkles off our sticky fingers, it’s the small things in our day that remind me how blessed I am. All the other junk just isn’t worth worrying over — it always works out somehow!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smiles, ballet, & baking…

  1. What a great post to remind us all of what is important! Wonderful blessings you have there!

Leave a Reply

