Arts and Crafts Thursday 9/19/13

It’s Thursday!!!  And in my world that means two things…Em has ballet & I need to try to put something together from what we’ve done this week.  Lately that’s harder and harder to do.  I’m going to take some time this weekend to prep some crafts for Emilie and I to do together, as well as hopefully finish some items the hubs and I have in the mix.  So bear with me…I will eventually get back on track!

First because she’s too adorable to not show off.  Em had ballet today and these tots are oh so cute! 

Image

Learning technique with her teacher

Image

Twirling

Have you ever tried to put a bun in on a toddler with fine baby hair?!  It doesn’t help that mine doesn’t have much hair, heck she had no hair until she was about two and a half!!  So every week I dread the bun.  Last week I gave up and she went with a pony tail so I was even more determined this week to get that bun right!  Let me tell you…it’s an art to get this thing in and then to stay put!!

Image

The bun…the dreaded bun…

 

Image

Image

Enjoying an icecream after class

Now onto the real crafty stuff.  

I have a sister that is fifteen years younger than me.  She has a style all her own.  She never wears socks that match?!  I don’t get that…but recently while shoe shopping I saw another tween with non-matching bright funky socks…so apparently its the thing.  My sis has been doing it since first grade…I don’t believe unless they were really funky to begin with that she has ever worn matching socks…or white socks for that matter.  

Hrmm…this wasn’t supposed to be about socks!

Anywho.  Her birthday was coming up and I just didn’t know what to send her.  Well…other than a few new pairs of funky socks to add to her stash.  I don’t see her enough to really know what she has/wants/needs but I didn’t want to do something plain like a gift card.  She is crafty in her own right so I decided she would appreciate something I made for her.  I scoured pinterest and came up with about ten ideas.  Sadly I only found the time to do one.  But they turned out oh so cute!  

I got my inspiration here.  Hers were just too cute, so I hit the craft store for supplies and found some perfect items.  While the inspiration pieces were precious, my sister is just too sassy for them.  So I had to amp it up a bit.  

Image

all three headbands

I used bright colors and even did a double band headband.  

Image

Bright sassy colors…perfect for my sis

I have to admit that the double band was slightly harder and took a lot more time, but they all turned out so HER!

Image

Double band with multicolors

And just because I found these really bright fun chains I also threw together a very simple bracelet.

Image

Now if I can just find make the time to get them mailed.  They’re already late, but luckily she’s a good sport about it!

We’ve got several other projects going right now and I’m hoping and praying that at least a few get wrapped up this weekend so I can share them with you next week.  Wish me luck!!!

 

 

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arts and Crafts Thursday 9/19/13

  1. Emilie just looks so big in that picture! It’s amazing how fast she is growing up! The headbands look great! Your sister will love them! Now go mail them!!

  2. Thanks!! I will, I will!! What if I promise to do it by the time the mail place closes Saturday! I just don’t want to haul both kids in there, lol! Plus Em and I are going to make a birthday card to go with them this afternoon 😉

Leave a Reply

