Sleep deprivation

This morning as I was trying to wrap up a project for work my brain shut off.  I mean shut.off.  I was staring at the screen trying to do something seemingly simple and could not for the life of me remember how to do it.  It was ridiculous.  

Then I went through the list in my head of how to remedy the situation… google it?  No…google won’t know this.  Call Kate? No…she might not know this and then she’d know I was useless at the moment.  Call the boss?  Oy…yup, I’m going to have to call the boss and explain that my brain is not working and I need him to remind me how to do this.  Thankfully it was an odd situation and he had me do something I’m not sure I’d done prior, so I don’t feel as bad.  But he’s pretty astute at reading us and was quick to ask…are you ok?! LOL…um yes…and no.  This child WILL NOT SLEEP!!!!  

I’m thankful that our version of not sleeping is that he wakes often.  As in I got up and nursed him back down almost every 2-3 hours last night.  The glorious part of this is that he will go right back to sleep IF I will come in and nurse him.  So I’m in and out in 15 minutes.  I know to be thankful for this as I have a friend with twins that are waking up to play in the night and keeping her up much longer.  Bless her!!  She’s got double my trouble!

Regardless of the fact that its short stints awake, its often and makes for very interrupted sleep.  I’ve hit that point where I’m acclimating to it and not even that tired – I’m just not 100% with it – which is probably worse!

But since we’ve last talked I have moved him to his crib, which amazingly…he loves!  But I have not sleep trained.  

Why you ask?  Because he’s had ear infections again.  It was his third infection in less than four months.  We decided to get a consult with an ENT and sure enough he felt like we needed to get tubes put in before the cold season ramped up.  I was nervous with the decision but afterwards am thankful because even a week after finishing the last round of antibiotics they still had a fair amount of fluid to drain when they did the procedure.  Poor fella 😦

The hardest part of the tubes had to be waiting to be taken back with a baby that’s hungry.  Our doc was late and Landon was losing patience.  

Image

Let’s do this people! I’m hungry!!!

It got to the point that I couldn’t even hold him anymore because he was so upset that he wasn’t allowed to nurse.  So he spent some time hanging with his Daddy.

Image

Snuggling with Daddy before surgery

So now that the tubes have been done and we can soon know that he isn’t hurting, we will hopefully be better able to get this sleep issue handled.  We have finished up some great projects around the house recently that I can’t wait to share!  Hopefully I’ll be able to get my stuff together and get some blogging time back in my routine soon!

 

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sleep deprivation

  1. I just love those pictures! So very cute!

  2. My son had tubes put in his ears when he was one and had no ear infections after which was a big relief… no more pain and fevers for the little guy. It is so hard to see them in pain and not be able to do anything. Hopefully your son will sleep easier now 🙂

    • I LOVE hearing that the tubes helped!! So far so good. He’s even babbling more so I know we did the right thing. And…while I’m nervous to say it, I think he’s starting to sleep better again!!! YAY!

  3. Holly says:

    Poor little honey. Ear infections are no fun. Hopefully he’ll be much better soon and everyone, especially mom, will be able to get some much needed sleep. He’s a real cutie by the way.

Leave a Reply

