Ways to remember

I have this horrible fear of forgetting things about my kids childhood.  

Probably because I already have…

I thought I’d never forget all of Emilie’s milestones, and I wasn’t good about writing them down because of it.  And now that Landon is starting to hit those milestones and I wonder, “when did Em do that?” I don’t have the answers.  It’s awful.  

You’d think that I would be good about writing things down this time around right??

You’d think! LOL

But even though I don’t have everything written down I have pictures.  Thousands if not millions of pictures.  Most of their “firsts” I’ve captured in photographs.  I love taking photos of the sweet, silly, messy, precious things they do.  And I share a lot of those on facebook for my close friends and family to enjoy.  The rest live out their lives separated into folders on my computer(s).  I desperately need to get an external hardrive to back them up to!! (That’d be a GREAT Christmas or birthday present for any of my family stalking, ha!)

While we were giving the guest room a makeover we decided to makeover our photo walls as well.  At that time all our framed photos were of us and Em, Landon at six months old hadn’t made it into a frame yet poor kiddo.  

No worries…we remedied that!

Image

The hallway from the living area to the bedrooms.

ImageHere is our “eclectic” photo wall, lol.  We wanted to make a wall of photos that showcased our family but without it being our typical clean lined symmetrical style.  We were looking for a little fun and funky and I think/hope we achieved it!

Of course we couldn’t find all the frames we wanted without forking over a small fortune so we decided to make them ourselves.  We ran to Garden Ridge and picked up a huge pile of clearance <$5 frames, brought them home and spray painted and distressed them.  Then we picked an arrangement of fun pictures of our family and then threw them on the wall.  We tried not to over think it, which was REALLY hard for me.  The goal is to be able to add frames/photos or swap them out without worry about messing it up.  It should be an ever evolving piece in our home.  I look forward to seeing it grow and change.

Speaking of growing… We also made this…

Image

Oh how they grow

I’d seen it on pinterest and knew we had to have one!  I love the idea of marking the kids heights as they grow, Emilie has a stickered growth chart on her closet door and while it survived one move – it would not survive another.  She’ll also likely outgrow the look of it in her bedroom before all is said and done.  So I loved the idea of one place to put BOTH of their growth milestones and is completely movable since I’m sure we will move again.

So while I’m not good at writing things down, or remembering every detail I’ll have a little help now.  

Image

 

Because who wants to forget these beautiful lashes?

Image

 

Or this beautiful smile?

 

 

 

Image

 

Or these chubby cheeks and big brown eyes?

Image

 

Not me. 

Definitely not me!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ways to remember

  1. I still love that last pic of Landon, it’s his “mom, what are you doing?” face – and it cracks me up! I do live the pictures and the ruler. They look great!

  2. Holly says:

    I love the ruler and the eclectic collection of photos is fantastic. You’re doing a great job capturing their childhood. 🙂

Leave a Reply

