Arts and Crafts Thursday 11/22/13

Shhh…. I know it’s friday.  In fact, I’m partying! IT’S FRIDAY!!!! But does the fact that I thought about posting it yesterday count?

I’m going to say yes! 😉

This week we spent a morning at the Arboretum.  We met with friends and enjoyed walking around watching our kids wear themselves out.  I thought we’d get a good nap out of Em but nope… not even a day running miles in the fresh air didn’t get her to nap.  I think we’re officially napped out.  It was a good 3+ year run!  Now we’re on to “rest time”.  Wish me luck!!! I need that time!  When else would I find the time to actually get precious pictures off my camera like this?!

Image

My little pumpkin

Image

My precious girl

Anyway… Em and I picked up lots of fun leaves (dropped leaves – we didn’t pick them off the trees) and brought them home to make some leaf turkeys.  I also wanted to make a leaf place mat I’d heard about so decided to kill two birds with one stone. 

First I laid a piece of folded wax paper on a towel and we started to put together our turkey.

Image

Forgive the picture – I got lazy and used my phone

Then just for fun we added some crayon shavings.  We folded the wax paper back over our artwork and placed a light weight towel over the top and ironed it.  I don’t iron…so I can’t even tell you what setting I had it on, I just made sure it was hot and went over it several times.

Image

Forgive the picture – I got lazy and used my phone

Image

You can’t prove that’s my hand. I really don’t iron. I don’t! Don’t let my husband know its humanely possible for me please!!!

The heat of the iron not only melted the crayon shavings for a fun effect but it also stuck the wax paper together creating our “place mat”.

Image

Image

She had to immediately have a snack on her placemat.

It was a cute little craft and fun to do together.  If I was going to do it again, I would put the leaves under heavy books for a day before doing it because by this morning the wax paper had begun to pucker as the leaves pushed against it and she figured out how to take it apart.  So thankfully we weren’t emotionally attached to it, because its already been disposed of.  

We also made something for Em’s room and for her best friend.  I found these perfect frames this week at Michaels on sale for $8.99/ea and I had a 25% off frames coupon – that DID work on the sale items even though the clerk didn’t think it would – making for an awesome bargain on nice frames for this project.  Then I ran to the scrapbooking section and got some 3D stickers to dress it up for the girls. These little girls have been best buds since they were about 9 months old.  Emilie loves hers and we’re going to hang it in her room tomorrow and her little friend and mommy loved theirs too.  

Image

Em’s little friend is blurred because while I do post about my kids, I don’t believe in posting about other kiddos without permission. And well – I didn’t think to ask when we saw them today. Can you see my little bald baby up there?!  Oh how she’s grown!

So while we’re gearing up for Thanksgiving next week, I’m already on the ball with Christmas gifts.  I’m nearly done with all my shopping, just have a few loose ends to tie up, packages to arrive, and handmades to finish.  I’ll try to share them as we go.  We also have several home projects up our sleeves still in the works.  Here’s hoping we get some of them done soon so I can share!  

If we don’t talk again before then… Happy Thanksgiving folks!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arts and Crafts Thursday 11/22/13

  1. I love them all! And I’m glad you showed the placemats, cause honestly it wasn’t until now that I knew that was a turkey! 🙂

  2. Holly says:

    Looks like loads of fun was had on crafting day! The frame is lovely too! Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

