Art, crafts and Christmas Thursday 12-5-13

It’s Christmas!!!!  This is one of my favorite times of the year.  It always has been, I love the magic, the scent of cinnamon everywhere, the lights and decorations.  The last few years its been a little more daunting, Christmas shopping is an entirely different beast when your the adult!!  But this year I planned ahead, saved, and am almost done already!! WOOT!  So now I can just relax and enjoy the most wonderful time of the year!!!

So this week I thought I’d share a few of my decorations.  I love using simple items together to make a warm beautiful Christmas atmosphere and doing it as inexpensively as possible.  Because there are way to many sales this time of year to be spending money on decor 😉

This year it was time for a new winter wreath.  I didn’t want one specifically Christmas so I could keep it up a little longer.  I had one from the last several years that I just didn’t love and I knew it would bug me all season if I didn’t replace it.  But because I couldn’t stand to just dispose of it, I added a Mickey and Minnie sign that I already had and hung it on Em’s door.  She absolutely loves it. 

 

 

Image

Gotta love re-purposing!

Then it was time to make one for myself.  I’d found a bag of glittered pine cones in my garage from my Meme and it was the perfect inspiration to get me started.  I already had a blank wreath (also from my Meme — thanks Meme!!) so I just started playing around with it.  I decided I wanted to add some snowmen I had and wasn’t using anywhere else.  They were meant to hold candy, but I threw some ornaments in them and used their wired scarves to tie them on.  Then I added the pine cones around them and a complimentary bow (also a random item my Meme had given me) and put it it all together.

Image

I think it turned out pretty cute for using found items at home and doing it in under thirty minutes 🙂

I had some leftover glittered pine cones that I just threw in a dish for some added sparkle in that area too…

Image

 

I also used pine cones (sans glitter) in my two table arrangements.  I have to keep these simple, we have too many people around our tables on Christmas day and the toddler needing to not be too interested by them 😉

Image

Dining room table

Image

Kitchen table and buffet

I love the mix of textures…but i’m just weird like that.  Getting all excited about textures, lol.

ImageImage

My mantle and tree are pretty typical.  I tend to like it that way and it has to be fun for the little ones.  Notice how all the low ornaments on the tree are plastic/touchable??  Otherwise I spend my Christmas season saying “no, don’t touch”…not fun for any of us!!

 

Image

Notice our elf on the shelf watching things?  He’s been a lot of fun!  I’ll put together this weeks adventures to share this weekend!ImageLast year I started a tradition of making an ornament.  You can see last years Santa hand that Emilie and I made on the right.  It was a lot of fun to make, check it out here.  This year I just printed a sweet picture of the kiddos together onto vellum, put it in a clear ornament (plastic because I have little ones) added a small bit of snow and called it done.  I’m still debating adding a ribbon to the top, but I haven’t yet.  Definitely not quite as creative as last year, but it works for my first year with two kids under foot.

What are some of your favorite ways to decorate for Christmas?  I’d love see them!

 

 

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art, crafts and Christmas Thursday 12-5-13

  1. So beautiful! I’d forgotten how you decorate the buffet by the kitchen nook – It looks wonderful! I love how you repurposed the old Christmas wreath for Em’s door!

Leave a Reply

