The Adventures of Dobby – Our Elf on the Shelf

This is our first year to enjoy the tradition of having an elf on the shelf.  Emilie is just now old enough to appreciate it.  

And frankly…I LOVE this elf!!!!  

The best blackmail tool ever created against our children!

Seriously…it is a little evil.  Me: You don’t want to nap today Em??  Ok…let me go tell Dobby you aren’t listening!  Em: Noooooooo….I WILL nap!  Yup…it really does work that well.  It’s a little evil, but I’m taking full advantage of this little guy for the remainder of the Christmas season!  Especially when its so much work to come up with new ideas every night for his adventures!  

Here are his adventures thus far:

Night one – A marshmallow bubble bath and introduction note

Image

 

Night two – Fishing in Emilie’s bathroom sink

Image

 

Night three – a gentle reminder to the toddler, made out of smarties…one of her favorite candies

Image

 

Night four – A sleep “party” with friends!  Ok, I’ll admit that I was already in bed when I realized I’d completely forgotten about Dobby.  I rushed into the living room and found a pile of clean laundry on the couch ready to be put away when the kids woke in the morning, so I quickly made use of it and went back to bed.  BUT…Em is very into the idea of sleeping bags and sleep “parties” (her name for a sleepover) so she was thrilled with it.

Image

 

Night five – A  treat (wrapped mini candy bars) for good behavior and trying new foods. (Dobby got my picky eater to try a grilled cheese – she ate the entire thing and loved it!!!!!)

Image

 

Night six – Dobby had to use Em’s plane to make his trip to the North Pole because his magic was running low after a rough afternoon but also praising Em for cleaning her room by herself and trying new foods again.

Image

 

Night seven – Dobby put up our old Christmas tree in Mommy and Daddys room for Emilie to decorate.

Image

 

Day eight – Dobby had fun in the snow 😉  He made a snowman out of candy!!!

Image

 

It’s really been a lot of fun, now the trick is keeping it up for 15 more nights?!

Is anyone else doing elf on the shelf?  I’d love to see what your elf is up to!!

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Adventures of Dobby – Our Elf on the Shelf

  1. You are using him to your advantage! It cracked me up when you were relating that you’d go tell Dobby! 😉

    If I had an Elf, by now he’d have been taped to the wall with all the soldiers lined up guarding him!

Leave a Reply

