Christmas Crafting

It’s almost Christmas!!!!  I’m so excited!  Our first Christmas with our completed family.  It’s great already!!!

I’ve definitely caught the Christmas bug – it’s really hard not to with a toddler in the house.  DAILY asking “is it Christmas yet??”  I keep realizing just how close we’re getting!  

I had lunch with a friend this week and had to quickly get her Christmas haul put together.  We don’t exchange gifts… yet…we do.  We like to pretend we don’t so there isn’t any pressure, but we’ve exchanged gifts for the last several Christmas’s and birthdays.  Sometimes its as simple as a handmade craft or food item and sometimes it’s the new Pioneer Woman Holiday cookbook!!!!! WOOT!!!  I am so excited about that one.  I have big plans for tonight, to make a cup of hot chocolate and snuggle up in my chair going through my cookbook marking pages of things I want to try.  But her favorite part of Christmas is the sweet stuff and last year I made her a package of my Christmas goodies and knew I’d better have it ready for her again this year 😉

First I tried something new… I found this idea on pinterest and had to replicate it…

Image

 

How cute are these?!  Seriously simple too!!!!  Just warm up the candy canes in a warm oven, shape into hearts on stick, add melted chocolate and sprinkles.  DONE!  I made little packages of these for my friend, her son, and our sweet neighbors.  They were a big hit and LOOK hard/fancy…but they so aren’t!  

Then I made peppermint bark and Reindeer poop (made this for the first time last year and posted about it here)

Image

 

I love making Christmas candies!  Funny enough, I don’t like eating them nearly as much as I like to make and gift them!  Seems like they sit on my counter and get forgotten.  Luckily I have plenty of people to gift them too that love it!

This week I also made date jars.  I made one for Em and one for the hubs (thank goodness he doesn’t read my blog!). I got the idea for the jars here.  I liked her general ideas but of course had to change it up a bit to suit us better.   It was easy to make…harder to come up with good ideas for us.  I’m happy with the end result though.  For Em I did three categories: Family dates, Daddy-daughter dates, and Mommy-daughter dates.  For the hubs I did: Advance planning (sitter) and slightly expensive, less planning (short sitter) and less expensive, and then home dates (ie: pizza and a movie, ect.).  While Landon isn’t quite old enough for a jar, he will benefit from alone time with us when the other is dating big sister.

I had to paint my craft sticks to differentiate between the categories and knowing Em would want in on this I was prepared.  I set out a handful of craft sticks on a piece of foil at the table and gave her a brush and her fingerpaints.  She painted her sticks while I painted mine with acrylics.  Then once hers dried I tied them like snowflakes and she put them on the extra tree she and Dobby decorated in our bedroom.

Image

 

And just because I giggled as I finished this last night imagining my nephews face when he sees it, I have to share….  My nephew has hit that age that all he wants is money for Christmas.  Frankly, I hate giving money.  But I decided to play along since its what he really wants.  But of course I had to do it my way 😉

Image

 

He’s going to look at me like I’ve lost my mind when he thinks he’s only getting a box of chocolates for Christmas….he’ll probably look just as confused when he opens it up to find it full of money instead of chocolate!  HA!!!  And just because I was OCD about figuring it out…I put tape over the quarters and up the sides of the container a bit to keep them from rattling when he picked it up.  

Are you giving any “weird” gifts this Christmas??

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Crafting

  1. I love your description that we don’t exchange gifts… But we do. Lol. I was happily living in ignorance until you pointed it out!
    And yes. I love, love, love my goodie bag of goodies! You did a great job on the treats, they look great in the pictures but they are even better when I’m eating them!

Leave a Reply

