Why is that as a parent when we have a “human” moment, we feel like failures?  The guilt complex is such a huge component of our journeys as parents.  But Why?  When did the thought that because we are parents we are now supposed to also become superheros?  Super Moms?

supermom

Image courtesy pinterest

This is the perfect example.  I’m supposed to be ALL these things?!  I’m not!!!

Em had surgery on Wednesday to remove her tonsils and adenoids.  She was pretty pitiful at first…

On our way home from the hospital

On our way home from the hospital

But pitiful didn’t last.

She’s been what I like to call “honeymooning”.  They pumped her full of steroids during the procedure so she feels invisible.  She’s outright CRAZY.  Literally bouncing off the walls, insatiable hunger (with limited food options), extremely emotional, and feeling like this surgery was a piece of cake.

The “honeymoon” is sure to end soon.  In fact, sometime in the next 24 hours the steroids are said to wear off and the real “FUN” will begin.

But while she’s “honeymooning” I’m doing everything I can to keep my patience.  I’m reduced to tears feeling like I’m not a “good enough” Mom because I’m annoyed and inpatient with her antics.   I’m resentful that my husband “gets to” leave and go to work while the baby and I deal with the crazy one.  Even the baby is ready for the “honeymoon” to end.  Several times I found him off playing in other areas of the house by himself, HIDING from his sister.

These aren’t the traits I’m supposed to have when dealing with my children!  My kids are the biggest blessing to my life, they’re all I ever wanted…I wanted to be a Mom more than anything and now I’m not doing it well enough?!  Shame on me!

But shame on me for feeling guilt when this is hard stuff!!!  No one ever said it was supposed to be easy, no one ever said you can’t have bad days, or that you have to enjoy every second.

ffc4b0edb8d9d3d8afcb4cf0044defd6

 

But I think the key is to forget the bad moments, to forget the guilt that we as parents feel far to much of, and move forward.  To get up every day with a smile and hug our babies.

Because it won’t be like this for long.

09e842c1a0a0bfc8bee839aa7b328374

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

