He isn’t asking for our resume…

This afternoon was my little mans two year checkup.  We typically divide and conquer these things if we can to keep the other one out of the doctors office if at all possible.  That was the plan today too…

…but my children woke up at 5:30 this morning.  It’s been a long day already and I think my husband saw that because as he was putting on Landon’s shoes to leave, he gave me a sideways glance and asked Em to grab hers as well so Mommy could have a break.

They walked out the door and I thought…WHAT IN THE WORLD DOES MOMMY DO WITH A BREAK?!

Mommies don’t get breaks!  So I turned on my favorite praise and worship station on Pandora and got busy folding laundry.  I finished that chore and started another load…there are dishes in the sink, my house is a mess!  There are is Scentsy to be sorted, mailed, labeled, and enjoyed.  There is dinner to be made.  Yet I can’t take another step.  I’m utterly exhausted.

Amazing that in a moment of exhaustion God speaks to us where we are.  An old work friend just posted a beautiful blog that spoke to me.  It led me back here…to my own last post…re-reading that I feel so called.  I feel called to use my business as my ministry.  But how?!  How does my business help others?  How does someone like me make a difference?

And then it clicked…

…those questions…

…those doubts and fears…

…those are not my own.  Those are the voice of the enemy working against me.

Once I realize that, it’s easy to see the good I’ve done for others lately.  It’s all small stuff, but I’m doing something…and anything is better than nothing.

Another friend posted this from her quiet time this week…

“I love the way God’s word is so active and alive. I’ve read Exodus before but I somehow missed the part where God calls Moses to lead his people out of Egypt and Moses basically tells the Lord that he can’t. He’s not good enough. He won’t be able to speak to them. He even asks the Lord to please, send someone else.
The funny thing is, God never asked Moses if he thought he could, He simply said, you will. And the best part of it all is that the Lord said He would be with Moses. He would teach him what to say, He would guide his steps.
And The Lord does the same with us….He calls us to do things that we think we can’t do. We think someone else could surely do it better, but when He places a call on our life, He isn’t asking for our resume. He knows our gifts AND our shortcomings, and He wants to use us anyways. And He wants to walk beside us into whatever He leads us into.
He won’t ask you to do big and scary things and then abandon you. He’ll ask you to do big and scary things, and then He’ll walk with you. You need only to step out in obedience.
Moses: “But who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?”
God: “But I will be with you.”

So today, wherever you are, stop and listen.  Erase the doubts and fears plaguing your mind…those are not your own!  Quiet the enemy with prayer and listen…listen to the One that will be with you.  He knows us better than we know ourselves…we are His children and He loves us with the ferocity of a momma bear protecting her cub.  All of us mommies know that momma bear feeling that rises up in us.  We know that passion of love we feel towards our babies.  Remember that He feels that way towards us.  He’s not asking for our resumes…just for us to obey…just to walk the path He’s paving.  He will be right there with you.

 

About gracedbyemilie

My world revolves around my little family, I am a wife…a mother…a christian…a designer…an Independent Scentsy Consultant...I'm just me. I'm crafty, a little OCD, a lot emotional, and occasionally funny. My life isn’t always very exciting, but its mine, and I’m excited to share it with all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He isn’t asking for our resume…

Leave a Reply

